A radio interview about my wood splitting


Through information from one of my wood splitting “clients” a radio reporter , Sean Adams of WCBS radio, which is 880 AM  radio,called me to interview me about my peculiar proclivity for splitting wood for free for people. The interview took place and is posted on his website:http://newyork.cbslocal.com/2012/01/23/stories-from-main-street-woodsplitting-in-larchmont-and-a-great-deal/.

This has resulted in about a dozen calls from people,who heard the interview on the radio, and  who want to have their wood split which, of course, delights me,because, of course to indulge my desire to split wood I have to have wood to split.

I have already completed two splitting engagements in Larchmont and am working on another one in New Rochelle which has the delightful combination of: a lot of wood, probably about  two cords; room to build a house; and small children in the family.

Needless to say I’m quite pleased and  have already put up one wall of the house. I will post pictures on this blog of the progress of the house. I am not sure how big the house will be. That’s one of the interesting things about building a wood house, which is, trying to estimate how big the house will be, that is, how many rooms, and how long and wide. The object being to  have enough wood to finish it and, when I finish it, not have any wood left over.

I thought of another interesting thing to do. I  will try to take pictures of the house as it goes up from exactly the same vantage point, so that it might be possible to make a little slideshow, which, if viewed rapidly, will  show the house rising or, if  viewed in  reverse would  show it going in the opposite direction. I don’t know if this will work or not but, anyway, I will take pictures as the house goes up and post them on this blog.

By the way, I notice a lot of people started looking at this blog since the radio interview, which is not surprising since the blog was cited on the website where the radio interview was posted.  Indeed the largest amount of views, 86 in any one day, occurred on the day of the interview.

I never really thought anybody would look at this blog since I just put it up for my own amusement and because I like to write and because it’s easy for me to write since I use this dragon speak dictation software and just drone on and on and the words pop out on the page. Any  astute reader would  probably have surmised this by now.

Leave a Reply

